Welcome to Briarfields

Guest Book

5
Based on 317 reviews
5 Star
98%
4 Star
2%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%
Kevin E – 1 day ago

Perfect B&B
If you are looking for a B&B that is close to Torquay centre, but not in town itself, then I would certainly recommend Briarfields. The hosts were wonderful, rooms clean & perfectly equipped with nice personal touches that you certainly don’t get very often. The breakfasts offered a variety of hot dishes & home made cereals.The accomodation is close to Torquay railway station, so it’s easy to jump on a train to other towns close by utilising the frequent train service.

Stephen p – 1 day ago

Fantastic
This is are second time staying at the Briarfields and it a Lovely place to stay a very friendly couple that make you feel very welcome very spacious rooms , very clean , breakfast was fantastic lots of choice ps will be going back very soon ps would highly recommend the Briarfields plus there’s free parking

Andre P – 2 weeks ago

A Perfect Stay
We had a fantastic stay at Briarfields and couldn't have found a better place to celebrate our anniversary. Julie-Anne & Charlie are amazing hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Our room on the 2nd floor was spotlessly clean & comfortable, with all the amenities we needed. Breakfast was of the highest quality and really great coffee. The location of Briarfields is perfect for exploring beautiful Torquay and we would not hesitate to book again.

Helen Lockyer– 2 weeks ago

Absolutely Fabulous
Our 2nd stay at The Briarsfields and again it didn't disappoint. Charlie and Julie-Ann are the perfect hosts making you feel right at home immediately. Our room was beautifully decorated, cozy and everything was spotless. It's the little touches that makes The Briarfields standout from the rest, homemade shortbread to go with the tea and coffee in your room, air conditioning, large fluffy towels, really comfy bed and plenty of space to chill out. The choice for breakfast is extensive to suit all tastes. We've tried a number of different options and they are all excellent. These guys really know their stuff, it's a definate bolt hole for us. Thoroughly recommend Charlie and Julie-Ann's B&B, you won't be disappointed.

Graham E – 3 weeks ago

Perfect as usual
What a lovely couple,5 star it really is,they really look after you and the rooms are as good as they come,fine linen sheets,just like Mums,ironed to within an inch of their lives.the breakfast was as always heaven,back down in a couple of weeks to do it all again.Thankyou,both Charlie And Julie Ann.

Keith &Sharon– 3 weeks ago

Fantastic
Stayed in room 6 absolutely excellent our 3rd time of staying and just what we were expecting as usual friendly hosts superb breakfast all you could want.Will be back next year of course.

C.O. M – 3 weeks ago

Five Stars Are Not Enough!
We need more stars for this review. Seriously. And if you are a writer, composer or artist needing the perfect place to retreat to, The Briarfields is the place.We are two writers and, when looking for places to stay, the biggest issue we keep running into is finding accommodations that allows for separate writing space. We looked at every hotel, Bed and Breakfast, AirBNB in Torquay - you name it? We looked at it. The AirBNBs were either small or if they had extra bedrooms, they were packed with beds/bunkbed. The hotels were one room with desk deals. And reviews for the hotels lining the seafront were so mixed, we just weren't sure we wanted to risk our rare time away in a place not working for us.And then we came across the Briarfields listing - PLEASE ONLY LOOK AT THE REVIEWS FOR THE PAST THREE YEARS !! Because that is when Julie-Anne and Charlie took over and made the Briarfields a piece of heaven on earth.They have about 7 rooms, including the Executive Suite - which was perfect for us. A large generous bedroom and next to it a wonderful generous sitting room. I found out later this is a sought-after room and we were so lucky we were able to have it for 8 days. Julie-Anne and Charlie also showed us the other rooms. Each one is different - smaller but with sitting spaces and desk areas and each one is decorated in a beautiful, charming way.The Executive Suite was peaceful, the shower was heavenly and the bed was perfect-we got sick the first couple of days and being holed up in such a wonderful space made a difference. The WIFI is great!!! That was very important to me as I was being interviewed via Zoom for a video/podcast series and needed it to go smoothly (it did!)And the breakfasts were off the chart - Chef Charlie's breakfasts were a gourmet delight. We tried a couple of things, settled on the hasbrown-scrambled eggs and the cheese-bacon omelette with one of the best fruit salads ever. Every morning - well it was like happiness on a plate.Great coffee too!The Briarfields is located about a 7 minute walk to the sea wall and is right around the corner from a very peaceful part of Torquay - a lovely little street that has a cafe, a charity shop, a small convenience store, a wonderful laundry mat, a couple of take-aways of fish and chips, kebabs, Chinese food, a harp store (!), and several tattoo parlors (i was so tempted). It was the perfect location for us.As New Yorkers we are used to walking everywhere and the Briarfields was the perfect starting-off point for us. We wandered through the Torre Abbey, the seafront/marina and town to the left and Cockington Village to the right - expect some hills and one of the loveliest footpaths through a forest.More so, Julie-Anne and Charlie were so welcoming and gracious. They got us cold medicine and cough drops on those tough early days, gave us great tips for places to eat and were wonderful to get to know and they were like this to all their different guest - many who keep returning year after year.More accustom to the anonymity of big hotels or the solitude of an AirBnB apartment, our experience at the Briarfelds changed everything - it was the perfect setting to rest, recuperate, write and explore and be in wonderful company at the same time. We will be returning.

Gordon and D – 1 month ago

Amazing!
warm and welcoming! High standard of accomodation and amazing breakfast! Excellent value for money. This was our second stay here and won't be out last!

john c – 1 month ago

Wow!
What a find! A beautifully presented small hotel. Immaculately clean, nothing has been missed in supplying everything to ensure a comfortable stay for guests. Charlie and Julie-Ann are excellent hosts and Charlie's breakfasts are amazing.

Dalia B – 2 months ago

Could not have been better!
My husband and I spent the long weekend at Briarfields. This was booked on line based on reviews found. Charlie and Julie were very welcoming and very professional. The room had every thing we needed to a very high standard. They have thought about every little detail you might need. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. It set us off very well for the day. We were even welcomed by a little chocolate chicken in the bedroom to celebrate easter, lovely touch. I would highly recommend this guest house as a base to see Torquay and surroundings. Thanks for your wonderful hospitality.